Another Semester, Another Schedule

I love the first few days of the fall semester of school. So many new faces, and new classrooms to walk to with crisp, new subjects. The first few days are so fun! And lighthearted! And most of the time you don’t even have to sit in class the whole time! It’s wonderful, and exciting.

With a new school schedule, that means a new schedule of themes to post about! Also wonderful and exciting!
Using this blog to record ideas and inspirations about what I’m doing, as well as topics I’m studying, helps me to get more out of what I’m doing. It’s always nice to have a record – to look back and think, “Wow! I’ve done so much!” And it’s always a fun, creative challenge to relate what I’m learning in classes to what I care about in the ‘long run’ – i.e. DESIGN!

I’m taking four classes this semester, and I think that they’re applications in ‘creative’ fields are incredibly useful.

So, the new schedule is as follows:
Monday – Color Theory
(class topics, photographs of our in-class assignments and out-of-class assignments for the week)

Tuesday – Art History
(a review of the movement/style that we reviewed in class, and my favorite piece(s) from the day)

Wednesday – Math + Design
(a series curated by yours truly about the practical, and vital, applications of math in design – like The Golden Ratio, grids, rule of thirds, geometry, sine wave/wave patterns, etc.)

Thursday – Art History and Earth Science Inspiration
(the same style as Tuesday’s content + a series of posts with content inspired by Earth and Atmospheric sciences – most likely including topics from class (think: minerals/rocks/clouds/tectonic plates) with product designs that match the topics)(this might also include architecture/building construction-related posts)

Friday – Graphic Design
(a look at graphic design principles and personal experiments utilizing them (like, mixing font exercises, doing different layouts based on different ideas like hierarchy vs. proximity) – mostly a personal experiment I would like to try out)

Saturday – Interactive Design or Sketching?
(another personal experiment I’d like to try out – either research about interactive design/psychology OR sketching -> sketching seems like a more practical skill to continue learning, while interactive design sounds like an exciting thing to do research about!)

Sunday – Haus Therapy
(anything house related that I’m into – decorating ideas, DIY project inspiration, pictures, tips, etc. -> mostly a personal summary of pictures and posts I like from more famous design blogs with a mixture of things I’m doing around my own house and things I buy for $10 or less at the thrift store!)

So! That’s the proposed schedule for now. I’ll probably try to start posting things with this schedule beginning Wednesday, and see how things go over the weekend, etc. and into next week – especially because a lot of classes are still at the ‘introductory’ phase and not a lot, if any, content has been presented yet.
And as a final note, I’m seeking a part-time job/internship/creative endeavor of any kind for my morning hours – so if you know of anything, PLEASE LET ME KNOW! I’m very seriously looking for a part-time position in almost any creative field that will have me 🙂 I am nice, funny, hard working, interesting, a little worldly (and wordy, clearly), enthusiastic, and intent on doing creative work!

2 thoughts on “Another Semester, Another Schedule

  1. […] Another Semester, Another Schedule « MARVELOUS THOUGHTS […]

Leave a Reply

