Weekend Adventure!

Ah, the first official ‘weekend adventure’ post – how exciting! It’s been busy and a little crazy here at the Hoop Haus pretty much the whole summer. I spent the weekend in Tennessee, which was a nice, quick little vacation. On Friday I went thrift shopping and dollar store shopping – I had forgotten how much I LOVE cheap things 🙂
Recently, though, I’ve been troubled with car trouble and it’s no fun.

On a lighter note, I made some clouds out of polyester stuffing for animals and pillows last week! However, ‘made’ might be an overstatement since I just grabbed handfuls out of the bag and TA-DA! Clouds! I haven’t decided where to put them up at yet, but I like how fluffy and dreamy they look. I bought some fabric stiffener in case the clouds start to fall apart – not really sure how they’ll hold up if I hang them without trying to ‘set’ all the fibers together in a lump some how?!

At the thrift store I found, and bought, a fantastic umbrella holder with a wise owl on it; so far it is a convenient paper holder (wrapping paper, craft paper, vellum, etc.) – well worth the $9! I’ll get some pictures of it and the rest of my recent home creative ventures up soon!

All in all, my weekend adventures were great and tiring and now I am trying to recover for another week of summer school. I completed my degree petition yesterday with my adviser, so I guess that that’s exciting. I’m not really as thrilled as everyone else; I’m still in the mindset that graduation is pretty far off still (6 months! half a year!), so I’m trying to keep a level head with all the tests that keep cropping up. Focus! Focus!

I’m hoping to schedule myself some time to work on portfolio things in the very near near future; I really don’t think I can wait very long to get the portfolio sorted out if I want a job when I graduate (because I do think that once fall semester starts, it’ll go by much quicker than this summer semester has so far)!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

