More Personal Notes on: Social Networking

“Social Internet Networks” get boring, but also guilt you into feeling like you “have” to keep them and/or keep up with them. They are also sort of remind me of video games and other computer related activities: you have to put a lot of time into maintaining your “Facebook friendships” to get lots of comments/notes/messages/whatevers back.

But, also, think of all those notifications! You ‘like’ something or comment on one thing of a sort-of friend, and then suddenly 12914 of THEIR friends do the same and Facebook tells you EVERY SINGLE TIME*.

*I realize you can change this notification, but then you would never know and then that would be annoying probably right? Do you see how hard this is yet? No? I have so many more reasons.

You feel obligated to check all of these things because you still have them and maybe because someone maybe wrote something somewhere. Keeping and maintaining these websites are a learnt behavior; I repeatedly check things because I did yesterday and I don’t want all of the internet stuffs to pile up!
Another popular excuse, at least for me, is “well, how would I get in touch with those people if I got rid of my account??” How would they have my email? These sorts of sites are really great to sort of know people that other people sort of know and it’s *slightly* less awkward to approach people via internet than on the phone.

Groups. Events. You want EVERYONE to join the thing you sent an invitation out about (on the internet, which is soooo personal *sarcasm*), but you don’t care about Miss-So-and-So’s tea party for grassshopers or whatever.

People don’t take things seriously on Facebook. You can make an event about ANYTHING and one of the options is “maybe”. I hate having looming event invitations. I maybe everyone of them and usually miss all of them.

But then again, people take EVERYTHING on the internet seriously. Not everything needs to have a ‘comment’ section. People make FOOLS of themselves on the internet allllll of the timmmmeeeeeeee. Plus, there is no inflection – just words out there for everyone to interpret their own way.

Everyone is on a different site. Myspace, LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter. You don’t want to be left behind, you don’t want to miss out, you need as much exposure as possible – especially as a “creative”.

OVERWHELMING – there’s no “easy way” to communicate with people. For IDSA I have to update the official Facebook group, message all the members from the FB group, make a FB event for it, message all of those people specifically, EMAIL people from the IDSA email address, update the tumblr which feeds to the IDSA website. Then I usually use twitter to talk about things right before or while their happening as a reminder, which also updates my FB status to tell people their….and I still end up printing out posters and announcing IN classes to try and get people to attend.

too

much

stuff

It is hard to get out of networking sites! If you’ve ever tried to delete an account on almost any website, there are lots and lots of screens to jump through, plus usually an email confirmation at the end. Getting rid of my Myspace was hard, not because I was going to miss it, but because they wanted me to explain why, and was I really sure? Yes. Plus all that guilt of missing out and not being able to reach those people (that you aren’t really friends with).

The internet promotes procrastination, which promotes procrastination, which etc.
It’s usually never a “quick check” of a website; it’s usually a 2-3 hour internet bout.
Like a disease.
Sometimes I have to use a timer to keep myself in check!

“Don’t want to miss out on things! Want to keep up with what everyone is doing!” on a networking site or even “Looking for inspiration!” on cool design blogs prevents people from doing their own things. This happens to me with Tumblr much too often.

Plus, the internet sometimes makes me over-aware of things. I mock people’s design concepts because I’ve already seen it done 2910312830 times and way better on the internet. And I often sort of judge people for not using the internet more, because, hello, these things are already out there!
But at the same time, I feel like it stunts my imagination.

Finally: You can be anyone you want to be on the internet. Probably not who you really are at all.

Leave a Reply

