Spring Semester!

This is my last semester of studio in my college career! I’m also planning on it being my last spring semester of school EVER, so I’m pretty pumped.  I’m thrilled about the studio I’m in about innovation and manufacturing, as well as the independent study that I’ve created about exploring the relationship between products and their branding, packaging, and retail.

Stephen Chininis is teaching my senior studio class about innovation and our first project involves us creating a company that plans on producing designs that can be manufactured easily with low-cost production (laser cutter/sewing/etc.), and we’re going to market and sell them. We chose different roles in class today and I’m one of three people assigned to “creative services” under the marketing team (branding, graphic design, marketing & advertising). Part of the assignment is to be an employee and run the company, while designing products for it at the same time.

I need to brainstorm some company name ideas and some product sketches before Wednesday. Personally, I like one-word names because they seem a lot more impressionable – like POW! that’s it. We discussed names and metaphors that can describe the fact that we’ll be designing tons of different product lines with varying price points – so things with layers like onions, artichokes, etc.

Now I think I’ll take a nap, then put up some cork boards by my desk, and get cracking! It’s a three day weekend, and I’m hoping to get a lot out of it.

2 thoughts on “Spring Semester!

  1. Randy Pena says:

    A friend of mine just emailed me one of your articles from a while back. I read that one a few more. Really enjoy your blog. Thanks

  2. Adam Graiser says:

    Is this the “inventioning” studio I heard about? sounds like it could be fun!

Leave a Reply

