on how I’m taking a typography module

I’m currently in a typography module on Thursdays from 6-9 [which means I literally have class straight from 1:30pm to 9:00pm with no breaks]. It’s sort of interesting, but I really wish that we had a semester long class with lectures and talks and discussions that could teach more about the logistics of type and type faces, etc. [Our teacher keeps saying that she doesn’t want to lecture us, and assumes that we know more than we do, when really I want someone to get down to the nitty-gritty and quiz me on how to kearn well or something.]
Anyway, I’m currently “working” on this really cool final project for the module, and I’m supposed to find some sort of language [poem, lyric, etc.] (she suggested Obama’s speech, which is ‘laden with metaphors’, but since I sort of missed hearing it the first time, I wanted to choose my own words) and explore it either in 2D or 3D. It’s a creative type of project that I haven’t been able to do in a long time; I’m just having trouble trying to figure out exactly what lyric/poem/written thing I want to utilize before I start exploring the 3D part [read: cool new thing I’m going to make for my apartment, yet also fulfills this assignment requirements]. What to do, what to do? I’m such a language person (in my head, at least), but I haven’t a clue what to use for this.
Actually, I haven’t a clue what to do about anything right now.

One thought on “on how I’m taking a typography module

  1. tyna says:

    I understand exactly what you mean on trying to find inspiration for this project. I’m still trying to figure out exactly what I want to do and I know that our general concepts are similar in that you also want to make a lamp with lyrics or some other type of expression on the shade, me too (but I’m pretty sure that they’re going to look totally different despite the similar approach, I’m thinking mine’s going to be more of a frame with a back light glow with vellum over the words to give a soft glow, but that’s just my idea for now!). My approach to this assignment to is take something personal that I’ve identified with for a long time. I’ve always been a history buff and I love music, so with that in mind I’m thinking about representing Don McClean’s “American Pie” for this project. It’s one of my all-time favorite songs and holds so much impact in his lyrics. Maybe you should do a poem or song that relates to the safari, I know that you identify with that a lot and I think you might find more of what you want that way. You could even get crazy with the design like incorporate zebra stripes or have a long piece to represent a giraffe. It would go with the decor of your apartment too. I hope that helps give you some sort of direction for this project. I’m really excited about starting it because I feel like it’s something personal that I can add to my portfolio that shows a little of my personality. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

