on being an update of sorts

WOO-HOO! I’m having another hell of a week; still don’t have any means with which to purchase things after a horrible incident in which I accidentally threw my precious, dearly loved Malcolm Fontier wallet at a hobo two weeks ago. I tried to food run at work today which was…and experience. I made eight whole dollars! And then spent half of that on my dinner. However, I am pleased with the progress I’ve accomplished on this kitchen appliance project – I did a ton of research and I feel like I know quite a bit. Now I just need to combine it all into really brilliant concepts for Friday – no big deal 🙂 – we just need “more of everything.”

I’m also really nervous-anxious-excited about IDSA elections because I’m running for president and I’d really like your vote! But seriously, I want to be IDSA president and I think I would do an incredible job because I’m enthusiastic, dedicated, and loud.
[Those aren’t the ONLY reasons I would be a rockin’ IDSA PREZ, just three basic, important ones. More to come via campaign video.]
(Megan worked on our video and she is amazing, in a nutshell. THANK YOU SO MUCH, MEGAN!!!)
The elections are this Friday at 12 so I’m a little on edge until then – not to mention I’m running as a party, with Jes, Sarah, and Randy [Randy doesn’t have a blog, sorry], AND we could technically be elected in part – not as a whole party – so there’s a lot of variables to deal with!

ALSO David’s come up with a wicked idea for us to make $$$ to get to NYC – and I’m super-duper excited [so excited I’m not embarrassed that I just wrote ‘super-duper’]! It’s a little too layered to try and explain in words minus some diagrams and magic, so I’ll just wait a few more days until we have something concrete I can direct you to. In other words, our class is going to go on a majestic trip to NYC and it should be the best experience we have as design students. Ever.
What do I want to get out of a trip to NYC? I want to have the experience of making a plan that’s pretty big-scale, following through, and accomplishing the goal. I also am incredibly excited about seeing the “design scene” in another big city. And bonding with my fellow students, of courseeeee.

AND FINALLY, I feel confident enough to answer that timeless question of “what do you wanna do with that degree when you graduate?” I would like to start my career doing design consulting/strategic design [think unboundary], but also dabble in ‘home decor’ type design [think furniture, lighting, coat racks shaped like antlers, etc.]
I think one of the lucky things about having a career in design is that you can find your niche, and you can always try something new if you don’t like what you’re doing. Sick of graphic design for company letterheads? Switch to lighting! Want to make a vase in your free time? Market that vase while you’re doing design consulting on the side. Ok, so in hindsight maybe I don’t have an answer at all – but I don’t feel bad about it anymore!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

