on how there is always more to think about

I was a smidgen skeptical about the “mini-workshops” we had in class today; not because I’m not interested in the topics, but because I didn’t think there was enough time for each teacher to elaborate enough on the subjects (how to present, typography, and page layout skills/graphic design). I did, however, find the workshops pretty refreshing, and reminded me of important points I need to focus on and learn more about.

Things for me to remember about presenting:
Give a well focused and concise introduction. Having a solid introduction would definitely calm my nerves, and help me get my points across more concisely in the presence of overwhelming reviewers.
Practice. Duh. I should practice more!
– Never apologize. I think I’ve taken note of this before, but it’s always helpful to remember that what you don’t tell reviewers, they don’t know. It’s all about what you end up showing during your presentation – they DON’T KNOW that it was supposed to be a different color, that there’s a finger print on [blank] spot, etc.

Things for me to remember about page layout/grids/graphic design:
Be complete. Be complete. Don’t leave anything undecided. Make informed decisions about where everything goes, no matter what. [This goes for everything, not just boards.]
You can’t NOT put a grid in your work. You can put a crappy, arbitrary, absent-minded, unhelpful, hard to read grid on something “without thinking about it”, but you’ve set it up somehow.
Lifetime study – everything we’re learning is a “lifetime skill”; it takes a long freaking time to know how to just throw out a grid or throw down the right whatever for your project with ease
DON’T MiX PropORtiONS! It’s strange, and it makes people uncomfortable. (No wonder I always especially hated people that wrote in strange upper-and-lower-case letters!)
Also from Sam Harris, that presented the “page layout” portion:
– What makes it a family? What makes everything link? Is it one thing? Many things? You decide! You’re the designer!
[color consistent throughout, material, wall thickness, curves, proportions – are they all the same? how do they relate? how consistent are they??]

Things for me to remember/consider about typography:
Learn the terms. They’re good to know – especially when you want to tweak “that space between the a and the capitol O in that one place” in a program and you don’t know what it’s called!
Use font appropriately. This is a given, but always good to remember. Do you really want a cursive font for your warning label, so that it’s more difficult for people to read? No.

And as of progress this weekend for the review on Monday, my schedule goes as follows:
Do some more sketches and renderings/3d models tonight [Yes, I am in studio at 1am on a Friday listening to frat kids have a good time.]
Lathe tomorrow after I have the ‘final’ rendering dimensions figured out
Paint/sand/spackle/repeat
Boards [I’m planning on doing a “time line” to show my process]

Leave a Reply

