and it all came tumbling out.

Now that I have been away from that godforsaken computer lab in 104 for a few days, and have already started our final project for the semester I am feeling a little less completely consumed by bitter rage as I previously felt [circa Friday’s review around 2pm]. I have even gone back to liking packaging, and have even found a stellar site that is all about it The Dieline [thanks to following FFFFOUND! on tumblr that posted some stuff from thedieline.com – isn’t the internet a funny little thing (or rather, never-endingly-huge)?]
I am proud of what I accomplished for the third project in theory and in graphics – which I was actually done with Wednesday night. I am not proud of the “end result” I produced for Friday’s review. I just couldn’t get things together, and it seems as if everything that could go wrong did, of course, go terribly wrong. I think that if every project this semester had gone so generally smoothly as they had been going, that perhaps the karma backlash I would’ve experienced would have been much more devastating than the one that I did have. I was burnt out and angry over being in that stupid, small computer room for so many days in a row with what seemed like nothing to show for it – but, of course, as a simple third year student I had simply forgotten that all projects are for the greater good of THE PORTFOLIO and not necessarily ‘the review.’ Days, MANY extra hours of sleep and some good meals of chips&dip and/or nachos [to ease the ‘WTF STUDIO SUCKED’ pains] later, I am back to being a happy little studio worker and am looking forward to this new project.

Project Four is a serious group project about non-motorized transportation. I’m working with Allison, one of my loverly former roommates, and Chris, a boy that can sketch like nobody’s business, on wheel-related transportation. I’m not usually a group project person, but thus far, I’m very happy with my group and I know that they’re both fantastic designers/hard workers. Looking forward to what this project has in store.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “and it all came tumbling out.

  1. […] bit and went to heaven BECAUSE one of my favorite websites, TheDieline.com (that I mentioned in a previous post), used a picture from one of the posts I wrote about the Converse branding project in their article […]

Leave a Reply

