simplicity is not simple

lI’m really into the idea of advertising and/or simplicity. Anyone that’s seen my [RECENTLY, FRESHLY] clean apartment comprehends my love of simplicity, and the difficulty I sometimes encounter while trying to maintain it. I’ve been enjoying this branding project for studio – the research, the idea of trying to boil down products into simple key points, and the opportunity to be almost metaphorical in trying to explain the ‘big picture’ a brand is portraying. As much as I’m into this project, I feel like I’m somehow being a disappointment. My sketching is bad. My concepts don’t read on paper. And my brain feels somehow shallow today – like I already knew some of the ideas I was given by classmates, but couldn’t actually decipher them from the buzz in my head on my own.
Promotional products are difficult. They can’t quite be a product that would be sold in stores, but they still have to be wanted, to be somehow ‘needed’ in a way – something to excite the consumer, but is also sustainable because its supported by the original product or vice versa.
I know my head is at least in the right place; I understand the assignment and what makes it work – I just have to put it all together.

On another note, I feel thoroughly ‘without’ or lacking since my laptop has been MIA for much too long. Even more annoying is my inability to get it fixed when the solution is simple. And the fact that I missed a flashmob pillow fight. DANG – I wish I had been there!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

