serenity stones.

New top banner is a shot of my Serenity Stones that I created for Project Two.
Again, I’m happy with how the review and presentations went – generally.
I was way nervous (blaming my rude pantyhose) and I feel like I ran through my presentation way too fast, but overall I got some of the reactions that I was hoping for when many of the critics said that they found my product ‘pleasing’.
If I could change my project, I would clearly improve the pebble portion of my model – but I do feel that I did the best I could have with what was available at the time.
I enjoyed the challenge of only using images for our boards, but I’m not quite sure if I really rose to the challenge completely.
Oh man, I’m tired. I swear I had more to say. I think I’m proud of what I did, but I’m not sure.
I feel like the whole product is too simple, but at the same time the simplicity is what makes it so beautiful and easy to use. I accomplished a lot of what I intended to do with this product concept: create something to decrease anxiety, and that applies to a wide range of ages and people without being a fugly, obviously ‘assistive’ prodcut.
Our boards were 80″ X 34″, with 2″ margins all over. Here’s a shot of my layout, with the grid. For the actual presentation I moved the large black board to the bottom of that column.

My two favorite concepts for this project were by Wes and Yichen – both very cool. Wes made a very revolutionary design for the walker that looks much sleeker and fun, and Yichen made a water fountain clock that always has water streaming to tell what time it is through the number of streams.

One thought on “serenity stones.

  1. […] portfolio/resume deal and an assembly guide to how my Second DVA Studio Project (you know, the ‘Serenity Stones’ and ‘aging in place’ solution) would realistically be produced and assembled in REAL […]

Leave a Reply

