Ah, finally!

After many rather random set-backs and problems, everything fell into place [minus the shelf], as it always does. Mad props to the lovely Angela that let me use her shower, her make-up, her clothes, her shoes… so that I could look like someone prepared for review after locking my car inside Klaus (I’m magical, what can I say?) I don’t know what I would do without the friends that understand studio, or at least try; I love the friends that come visit or actually ask about what I’m making and that comprehend that I’m not blowing them off per-say, and that help however they can. Thank you.

Despite being done with my project crazy early this morning/late last night [TOTALLY done with all my boards at 5:30am], I had a lot of plotting issues/errors [was on the list, waited around till 9 something, had to replot over and over until I finally got it done at 11:30] and I almost had a panic attack while spray mounting, and then again while pinning up [srsly]. But I learned a lot from this project:
1. ALWAYS swipe your card for the parking decks. This is perhaps most important.
2. Embed your pictures into your illustrator files so that they get printed
3. Use Jes to help you figure out your figure/ground sidebar icon thing for your boards
4. Use higher power, lower speed on the laser cutter [like power 80 or so]
5. Run the laser cutter more than once
6. Save your illustrator files “for web” and they’re smaller and flattened

Anyhoo, I’m serious when I say I think that this is the best project I’ve ever done because not only are my models good, but my boards are pretty great and I actually have the ‘whole package’, rather than ‘a really good study model and then some other mediocre stuff that doesn’t mean much.’ Its been cool hearing kids compliment my Seedling Silverware. Also, the reviewers rocked – like totally rocked and gave good, solid, helpful stuff instead of what seems like commands and authority from some others. Wonder if its an age thing?
Finally, I’m posting the boards from this project because I’m very proud, and seeing is believing.
Behold, ‘Seedling Silverware’!

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Ah, finally!

  1. Matt says:

    you weren’t kidding, yo. this is indeed high quality stuff. and after seeing pictures of the model the function makes alot more sense. congrats on the job well done!

    (not sure if it was intentional but the “&&” on your board was a nice touch. damn my C programming class.)

  2. iamemmathea says:

    yessir, the “&&” was intentional. thank you kindly, sir.

Leave a Reply

